I am sure learning to read, growing in reading, and reading more and more advanced literature is top of your mind!

I know it was with me! I loved reading when I was a kid and yet I was not that good in school....
I really wanted my kids to love reading and to thrive in their education. I wanted books front and center of our educational journey.

Teaching them to read was amazingly daunting! It really took a commitment every single day. And the English language is very complex!

So-my first piece of advice is.....Do NOT try and figure out how to organize the English language in order to teach it in some sort of orderly way!

Start with basic phonics and basic readers, slowly introduce sight words, and get a good spelling series for them to practice.

Definitely work on building a little library in a corner somewhere and always have a book around for them to pick up and look at.

I had a small basket of books with the baby type in it and then slowly built a higher level library on the shelves.

Each year I would purge old books that we had read past so that my book collection didn't get too big. (Keeping the favorites of course)

Stay committed to getting them reading but know that each kid masters it at different times. Some wait until the 3rd or 4th grade before really finally feeling accomplished enough to read a chapter book.


Check out my YouTube channel for more!